Push To End Mandatory Arrest Of 16, 17-Year-Olds For Domestic Violence
When police are called to a report of domestic abuse, often someone goes to jail.
In Washington state, the mandatory arrest law applies to suspects 16 and older when the officer believes a serious assault has occurred within the last four hours.
A proposal before the Washington legislature would increase the age of mandatory arrest to 18. Police could still arrest 16 and 17-year-olds, but it wouldn’t be required.
A panel of lawmakers took testimony Tuesday on a change in the law that would give police officers more latitude. Thurston County prosecutor Jon Tunheim told lawmakers he supports the change.
“Often times with 16 and 17-year-olds coming through my office at juvenile court we find that those arrests that were made under the domestic violence category, there’s really other issues at play going on,” he said.
Like mental health issues for example.
Advocates for survivors of domestic violence also registered their support for the change in the mandatory arrest law.
Copyright 2015 Northwest News Network