An NPR member station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Spokane Public School Board Approves New Boundaries

Courtesy of Spokane Public Schools

The Spokane Public Schools Board unanimously approved new boundaries during its Wednesday night meeting, the district’s first major boundary change in 40 years.

Spokane Public Schools' new boundaries are designed to keep neighborhoods of students, and cohorts of children together during the transition from elementary to middle school to high school.The board unanimously approved them after several weeks of delay. Some parents were concerned the model would force their families to go to a school geographically farther from their home, and some were concerned the changes were inequitable.

School Board Member Mike Wiser said the committee that developed the new lines considered both issues, and said trying to change the boundaries this late would create more issues.

“You would literally have to start from scratch to make any substantive changes. We’ve given the community additional time, as I said, I’ve appreciated that myself. People have still spoken up about potential equity issues, but there haven’t been solutions that haven’t been considered.”

He said the district is looking at other ways to improve equity, including boosting programs.

School Board member Jenny Slagle said the boundaries are one part of many programs that will improve equity, including the budget and the equity policies the district is adopting.

“I don’t believe there’s ever been a time where the SPS Board has been so intentionally focused on all facets of equity.”

Boundary Changes:

Ferris High School

Chase Middle School

  • Franklin
  • Lincoln Heights
  • Moran Prairie 
  • Sheridan

Carla Peperzak Middle School 

  • Adams 
  • Hamblen

Lewis and Clark High School

Sacajawea Middle School

  • Grant
  • Hutton 
  • Jefferson
  • Roosevelt
  • Wilson 

Carla Peperzak Middle School 

  • Hutton 
  • Mullan Road
  • Wilson 

Rogers High School

Garry Middle School

  • Arlington
  • Lidgerwood
  • Whitman

Shaw Middle School

  • Bemiss
  • Cooper
  • Longfellow
  • Regal

North Central High School

Glover Middle School

  • Audubon
  • Finch
  • Willard

Denny Yasuhara Middle School 

  • Garfield
  • Holmes
  • Logan
  • Stevens

Shadle Park High School

Salk Middle School

  • Balboa
  • Linwood
  • Madison
  • Woodridge

Pauline Flett Middle School

  • Browne
  • Indian Trail
  • Ridgeview
  • Westview

Maps of the new boundaries and more details are available at

Related Content