An NPR member station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Half Of Spokane County Redistricting Committee Announced

Doug Nadvornick/SPR

Spokane Democratic legislators have announced two of the five people who will oversee redistricting in Spokane County.

Senator Andy Billig, Representatives Timm Ormsby and Marcus Riccelli, all of which represent the city of Spokane, have chosen two attorneys to join the redistricting committee.

Spokane’s Democratic delegation chose Natasha Hill and Brian McClatchey.

McClatchey is the Director of Policy and Government Relations for the City of Spokane City Council and has previously served as the in-house attorney for the Coeur d’Alene casino and was the vice-president of the city’s Planning Commission.

Hill is an attorney in Spokane who grew up in Hillyard and now practices employment discrimination, civil and family law. She also has been active in Black Lives Matter protests in Spokane last summer and has been an advocate for fair housing.

In a statement released Monday, Riccelli said praised both members qualifications.

“To ensure people have a more direct voice in their government, which was the goal of moving to five county commissioners, it is critical the districts are drawn in a just and inclusive way,” Riccelli said.  “Natasha and Brian are highly qualified and committed to a process that will ensure the people of Spokane County get a responsive and representative government, and one that is brought closer to the people.”

The committee will be made up of five people, two chosen by local Democrats and two chosen by local Republicans. The last member of the committee will be chosen by the four nominees. Once the group is assembled, they will be tasked with expanding Spokane County from three, to five commissioner districts.

Local Republicans have not yet announced who they have chosen for the redistricting committee. The deadline for them to choose nominees is today (Monday). If they do not choose committee members, state Republican leaders have until the end of the month to select for them.

Once the committee is assembled they will began work on redistricting. That work will include at least one public hearing and other efforts to hear from the community on new district lines.

The change from three, to five commissioner districts is the result a bill sponsored by Riccelli that passed in 2018. Current and former county commissioners opposed the change while local state legislators from both parties supported it. 

Related Content