An NPR member station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Spokane Legislative Incumbents Win; Chase Takes Open Fourth District Seat

Courtesy of Rob Chase

Spokane’s legislative delegation will look much the same in 2021 as it did in 2020.

All of the incumbents won their races. The one exception comes in the Fourth District, where Republican Rob Chase will replace a fellow Republican, Matt Shea. Chase defeated Democrat Lance Gurel by about 22 percentage points.

“I didn’t know quite what was going to happen. I think a lot of it depends on the presidential election, the coattails effect and all that. I think people think I can be a good representative and that’s my goal, to be a good representative for everybody in the Fourth District," Chase said.

The two closest races are in the Sixth, where Republican Mike Volz holds a two-point lead over Democrat Zack Zappone and Republican Jenny Graham is up about six points over Democrat Tom McGarry.

In the Third District, Democratic Representatives Timm Ormsby and Marcus Riccelli and Senator Andy Billig won their races with more than 60% of the vote.

In the Fourth District, two incumbents, Senator Mike Padden and Representative Bob McCaslin, were at 60% or almost to it.

Incumbents also won all of their races in the Seventh and Ninth Legislative Districts.